140 drive sprocket options

View previous topic View next topic Go down

140 drive sprocket options

Post  bigbilly on Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:42 pm

Hi
Finally getting to do my first decent journey - 80 mile return to the Sandford rally at the weekend and getting a 69.33 mph (gps) top speed I was wondering if there are options for changing front sprocket, if this was anyone of my full frame Lammys I would have stuck in a 1 tooth bigger sprocket as the pulling power was there but I ran out of gearing.
I haven't pulled the chaincase cover to have a look , as need to have at least one scooter on the road but guessing it's got a 14 and not compatible with series parts?
Any thoughts would be appreciated

bigbilly

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 140 drive sprocket options

Post  Scooter Paul on Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:58 am

I have limited knowledge but here goes; there is a 15 tooth sprocket available for the Lui 50 but it is different to yours. I bought one to achieve the same end as you. I've still got it if anyone is interested. The series sprockets are for double row chains but I'm not sure of the pitch. My best suggestion would be to buy a spare standard sprocket, so you can keep yours on the road, and find a sprocket manufacturer that can make you a larger blank. Then have the old teeth machined off and the new sprocket, suitably machined to fit your modified boss, welded on.

Paul
Scooter Paul

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  gc on Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:13 am

I have a 15 tooth sprocket for mine when I eventually get round to using it. I've only ever seen one (mine) and will be using it with a 46t crown wheel able to take a 4 plate clutch.
I looked at Starstream gearing and thought 15-45 would be way too tall. 15-46 might be a struggle but I'll give it a go.
Gary.
gc

View user profile

Back to top Go down

140 sprocket options

Post  bigbilly on Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:06 pm

Didn't think it was going to be straight forward Rolling Eyes